Revolutionary Struggle (Epanastatikos Agonas)

On April 10, 2010, the Anti-terrorist Department of the Greek Police arrested six people in Athens: Nikos Maziotis, Panagiota “Pola” Roupa, Kostas Gournas, Vaggelis Stathopoulos, Sarandos Nikitopoulos, and Christoforos Kortesis. All were known for their long presence in the anarchist/anti-authoritarian movement. Two weeks later, Nikos Maziotis, Pola Roupa, and Kostas Gournas admitted to participating in the organization known as Revolutionary Struggle (Epanastatikos Agonas). Stathopoulos, Nikitopoulos, and Kortesis denied the charges and stated that they were being persecuted for their years of anarchist activity and their comradely political relationships with the others. Two others, Marie Beraha and Kostas Katsenos, were also charged and included in the trial.

On April 3, 2013 the judgment on the Revolutionary Struggle case was handed down:
Nikos Maziotis was sentenced to 86 years’ imprisonment in absentia; his sentence was merged into 50 years. He was on the run for two years, was seriously wounded and arrested on July 16, 2014, after a shootout with cops in Monastiraki. He was then transferred to the tightly-guarded Evangelismos hospital, where he was hospitalised and has since been transferred to the new type C maximum-security prison in Domokos. [Updated: 30/12/14]

Pola Roupa and Kostas Gournas were both sentenced to 87 years (Pola sentenced in absentia); each sentence was merged into 50 years and 6 months.
For all three of them, the maximum prison term is 25 years (which are typically served either as a full sentence or by day wages in prisons, or after the completion of 3/5 of the prison term, when a prisoner can be granted conditional release under specific conditions).

Vaggelis Stathopoulos and Christoforos Kortesis were sentenced to 8 and 7 years’ imprisonment, respectively. The sentence against Vaggelis Stathopoulos was merged into 7 years and 6 months. However, in 2013 they were conditionally released (€2,000 bail, obligation to present himself twice a month at his nearest police station, ban from leaving the country).

Marie Beraha, Sarantos Nikitopoulos and Kostas Katsenos were acquitted on the benefit of doubt.

In addition, for all five convicted anarchists, the judges’ decision provided for deprivation of their political rights (5 years for the three admitted members of Revolutionary Struggle, and 3 years for the other two anarchists, Vaggelis and Christoforos, who denied R.S. membership). [source]

Case Status: 

People in this case: